First Impressions

Camp NaNoWriMo started yesterday.  My first impression is that it’s the best thing in the universe.

I went into it with high expectations.  Reality has surpassed them in every way.

Yesterday, I had zero time.  SERIOUSLY, ZERO TIME.  I had a history test to study for, a chemistry project to do, and I was busy all evening.  But guess what?  I wrote 606 words.  I did a 10-minute word sprint.  I made time for writing.  And it felt awesome.

For those of you who don’t know what word sprints are… It’s a bit like this:

fianl count take 3

sitting pretty on 43

It’s a friendly competition between writers as we slay orcs – I mean, uh, word counts – together.  To see who can write the most in say, ten minutes.  It’s nearly as much fun as a LOTR marathon.

Anyways, today I wasn’t so busy.  One of my classes got cancelled, so I got home from school early.  As of now, I’ve written 1,252 words today.  Okay, that’s not as many as I need to reach my goal, but I’ve still got time tonight!  Sure, it might mean skipping an episode of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., but we writers have to make sacrifices!

So, 1,252 words today, at least three word sprints, and numerous back-and-forth messages via our cabin forum.  You know what?  My cabin is all teenage girls.  They’re all struggling with school and life and writing and word goals.  Which gives me a unique type of support I’ve never gotten before.

Am I behind on my word count?  Yes.  Will I catch up?  Hopefully.  Does it really matter, in the end?  No.  What matters is that because of NaNo, I have 1,858 words I didn’t have two days ago.  I have a new, improved background for my MC.  I have an awesome new beginning to my story.  And I have inspiration to write tomorrow.

Thumbs up

Which, if you ask me, is pretty good for two days of CampNaNoWriMo.

3 thoughts on “First Impressions

  1. Yep, Camp NaNo is pretty awesome. Getting support from fellow writers while throwing in a little friendly competition. It’s fantabulous. I’m slightly behind on my word count goal but, hey, progress is progress! Haha.

    Like

  2. I could never turn off the inner editor enough to be any good at word sprints. I just can’t leave those pesky typos and poorly constructed sentences alone!

    Like

Leave a Reply

