Summer Reading

This week.  This will be the week that I really get back into writing!

But then… THIS happened.

IMAG1136.

I WENT TO THE LIBRARY.  And came home with:

1) Doctor Who Series 8.  Because every season of New Who deserves to be re-watched at least once.

2) Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, by Morgan Matson.  Because her other book, Since You’ve Been Gone, was so brilliant.

3) Cinder, by Marissa Meyer, because Cinderella + Sci-Fi sounds too cool to resist, and I finally found a copy at my library.  I’ve been wanting to read it for a while, and it caught my eye today – just sitting on the shelf, looking all mysterious and wonderful.

4) Uncommon Criminals, by Ally Carter.  Because Ally Carter is awesome and I am almost finished with the previous book in the series.  (The notable thing about this book: it is the last book by Ally Carter that I have not read yet.  So after this… I have to wait for her to write another one.  NOOOooooo…. Sadness.)

Okay, I guess I’m not gonna get much writing done this week.  Especially ’cause that Doctor Who DVD is due in just 7 days.  OH WELL!  This is just turning out to be a reading summer instead of a writing one.

In fact, I’m surprised my brain hasn’t exploded with all the reading I’ve done this summer.

I’ve already read All Fall Down, Heist Society, and Perfect Scoundrels by Ally Carter.  (Reviews coming soon)

Plus, for my book club, I’ve read all these:

1) Since You’ve Been Gone, by Morgan Matson.  A charming story about a girl who finds herself when her best friend disappears for a summer.  Full review HERE.

WE-WERE-LIARS2) We Were Liars, by E. Lockhart.

A story about a perfect family.

With all the money in the world.

And a private island with huge, expensive summer homes.

And a girl whose accident one summer breaks the pattern of her perfect family.

Quite an interesting read.  It’s left me a little scarred, however.

CNV3) Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein.

A story about a British spy in occupied France during WWII.  She’s been caught by the Germans, and she has two weeks to live.  Two weeks to tell the story of how she came to serve as a spy.  But the real story is about her friendship with the pilot Maddie and their adventures together.  But it turns out the adventures have just begun.

I admit that I had a rough time getting into this book at first. It was a bit slow, and didn’t seem to really be going anywhere. But as the pages went by, the pace increased and I found myself more and more engrossed in the lives of the two amazing characters. I nearly cried at the ending, but loved it nonetheless.

I also loved the characters and the tone of the book. “Verity” has a wonderful voice – she’s witty and funny and rebellious and grand. And Maddie – she’s just brilliant.

My poor WIP is feeling rather unloved.  I’m so sorry, dear WIP, but you’re just gonna have to wait another week.  Or maybe two.  Or as long as it takes for me to balance my reading and writing schedules.  I want to feel bad for you, but I’m too busy enjoying my books.  🙂

Leave a Reply

