Red Queen

Red QueenLook at this book cover.  Look at it.

It is everything magnificent.

On to the book review.

Red Queen, by Victoria Aveyard, is a story of a 17-year-old girl named Mare.  She is a Red in a world ruled by the Silvers.  Reds are normal humans; Silvers have super powers – because of that, the Silvers rule and suppress the Reds.  Mare finds herself working at the palace of the Silvers, where she doesn’t fit in to either side.  Why?  Because although her blood is Red, she has a Silver power.

My thoughts: I have mixed feelings about this book.  Let me begin by saying that I read it all in one day.  ONE. DAY.  I stayed up until 1:00 in the morning reading this.  (Okay, so I guess it was two days then, cause it would be the next day after midnight…) ANYWAYS, that’s how engrossed I was.

HOWEVER.  There were a lot of things I didn’t like.

Allow me to break it down like this:

Writing Style: Amazing.  Victoria Aveyard knows how to word her sentences.

Suspense Level: Over-the-top.  As previously mentioned, I stayed up til 1 AM trying to get these characters to safety.

Characters: Here’s where the review is gonna go downhill.  I didn’t particularly love any of them.  They weren’t necessarily one-dimensional, it’s just that I never felt that I got to know them well enough.  They just didn’t feel special. 

In every great story, there are things that set characters apart and make them memorable.  Katniss is insane at archery and looks after her family.  Peeta is the boy with the bread.  Snape has a tragic backstory and a hooked nose.  Voldemort has no nose.  Kaylee from Firefly has teddy bears sewn on her clothes.  Agustus Waters smokes non-lit cigarettes and isn’t afraid to get his heart broken.

For each of my favorite characters, there’s something that makes them memorable.  But I honestly couldn’t tell you how any of these characters looked, dressed, talked, or acted.  They just didn’t jump off the page.

Plot: In one word, it was unoriginal.  It literally felt like X-Men, Hunger Games, and The Selection all rolled into one.  The ending distinctly reminded me of Divergent.  One scene reminded me of a Star Wars scene.  Because of that, I was more focused on going “Hey, this reminds me of that scene from Hunger Games” than on caring about what was happening.  I spent some time reading reviews on Goodreads, and a lot of other people agree that the plot felt like a bunch of others all combined.

Content Advisory: There’s a few kisses, some violence, and a ton of suspense.  But nothing super objectionable.

Rating: 3 stars.  It wasn’t my favorite, but it was fun to read.  I won’t be reading the rest of the series though.

Anyone else read it?  What did you think?

2 thoughts on “Red Queen

  1. I have got the same opinion as you, I read this book about 2 months ago and I am now sturggling to remember anyone other then the main character. I did like the story line but that is because I love the idea of magic powers. I will be continuing the series as i dont like reading the first book of a series and not continuing, it just annoys me haha. But this was a great review and i really enjoyed the way that it was set out 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

