Line Edits

Well, folks, I’ve really enjoyed my week off of writing/editing.  I did a project for my Graphic Design class, worked on a college application, and watched some Harry Potter movies.

But yesterday, it was time.  With NaNoWriMo looming just two weeks away, I decided I’d better hunker down and get to work.  Therefore, Chapter 1 has now been line-edited.  It’s a really awesome feeling just being able to mark up a piece of paper.  I like it.  A lot.

The photographic proof:

20151018_221713

20151018_221921

So far, I’ve noticed a few things:

  1. I’m making a lot more notes/ corrections than I was expecting to.
  2. I actually really like this story
  3. Sometimes I just didn’t convey things well.  Having a definitive knowledge of where the story is going really helps me sort out characters and plot points and such.
  4. It’s actually really fun to edit.
  5. I’m gonna have to work really, really hard to get it done and corrected by November 1st.

But hey, NaNoWriMo is all about crazy deadlines, so why not get some practice with ’em?

That’s all for now, folks.  I’ve gotta run – teen writer’s club at my library tonight!

Happy Writing!

3 thoughts on “Line Edits

  1. Is it vain to like your own work? I find that some of my own I love dearly (and others I do not).
    Editing can be tough, though. Good luck with your deadline.

    Like

    • Is it vain to like one’s own work? I would argue no, unless we go about bragging or are otherwise unrealistically infatuated with it. But I don’t think there’s any harm in being proud of something that you’ve put a lot of time and effort into, so long as you are equaly supportive of other people’s efforts. True humility isn’t thinking less of yourself, it’s thinking of yourself less. (Sorry, long answer for a simple question!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

