Even if I Don’t Get Published

A free-verse poem by Your Humble Author

Even if I don’t get published,

I am still a writer,

I am still a worthy human,

I am still God’s child.

And that is pretty awesome.

Even if I don’t become a best-seller,

I have still written a novel,

And re-written it,

And edited it,

And made it beautiful; a butterfly from the caterpillar.

And that is pretty awesome.

Even if strangers never read my book,

My family enjoyed my novel,

My friends have read my novel –

My friends have loved my novel –

And that is pretty awesome.

Even if my name never appears in bookstores,

I still had the time of my life creating an amazing story,

I still love my characters dearly,

I can still escape to that world when I need to.

And that is pretty awesome.

Even if I never get published,

I still would do it again.

Because writing is part of who I am.

It’s a God-instilled gift.

And that, my friends, is too awesome to ignore.

Leave a Reply

