Motivational Mondays #1

Hey guys!  My last day of high school comes up this Wednesday.  Pretty exciting, huh?  So I’ve gotten back to writing some, and now I’m back to blogging too!

I’m starting a new blogging thing for the summer.  Every Monday will be a pep talk in blog format.  There will be inspirational quotes, helpful hints, and probably some gifs telling you that you can do it!  So tune in every Monday from here to September for a dose of that ever-elusive thing called motivation.  I’ll still post other writerly-things on other days of the week, but you can count on weekly Motivational Mondays.

Without further ado, here’s your first one.

The theme this week: Remind yourself why.

Why do you write?  Is it because there are voices echoing in your head all day that drive you mad?  (If so, you should talk to your doctor about it.) Is it because you long for an escape to another land?  Is it because there’s nothing that beats the feeling of brain-to-keyboard flow?

Whatever it is, remind yourself today why you write.  Then use that as an inspiration to keep going.

For me, I write for two reasons:

  1. Often times it’s fun and captivating and surreal.  I love the escape, the moment when I totally forget I’m sitting in a chair and suddenly I’m someone else, a person that I created from nothing.
  2. If I don’t write, I feel like I’ve forgotten to do something important, and there’s a nagging itch in the back of my mind.

What about you?  Why did you choose to do this in the first place?  Take that and let it fuel you.  Even if you’re stuck in a plot hole a mile deep, or you’re swamped with exams, or you’ve been out of it for a while, remind yourself that you do this for a reason.  And if you don’t have a reason, then get off this website and do something else with your life.  Seriously.  If you don’t have the need to be a writer, spend your time on something else.  😉

Here’s your quote of the day:

a delicious thing to write

If you’re a writer, you have a gift.

Use it.

 

Leave a Reply

