MM 2 – Don’t Throw in the Towel.

It’s Monday again, and we’re back for Motivational Monday #2.  I meant to publish this last week, but I had some unexpected people show up as a surprise for me.

Anyways, let’s get to it!

Maybe today you’re felling like this:

The kids are sick.  My dog just died.  I’m tired, or sick, or I don’t have the energy to write today. Besides, a new episode of Supernatural just came out…  I can always get back into writing tomorrow.  Life is just too busy.

The plot is so riddled with holes it looks like swiss cheese.  The characters don’t make any sense.  I haven’t written for three months, because my imaginary friends won’t talk to me.  I just don’t feel like editing.

Maybe you’re even closer to That was my third rejection this week.  This query letter will never be good enough.  My story just isn’t worth the effort.  It would be so much easier to give up.

I’m kinda there right now.

I have so many stories I want to tell, but I just don’t feel like writing.  I have a novel that I want to get published, but I just don’t feel like querying.  And I feel like no matter how hard I try, I’ll never be able to get my plot just right so that the plot twist I was going for has its full effect.

I’m being honest, guys.  Some days I feel like I’m a brilliant writer, but some days I just don’t.

And you know what?  That’s okay.

What’s not okay is to let those feelings rule my life.  If I honestly, deep down, thought I was a horrible writer, I wouldn’t be spending my time this way.  If I firmly believed that my story had no potential, I wouldn’t have even bothered to write a query letter in the first place!  I do believe that God’s plans for my life involve being a writer, and I do believe that my novel can get published and that people can enjoy reading it.

So I refuse to believe the lies that my “feelings” tell me.  And right here and right now, I’m deciding to tune them out.

There’s this section in the Bible that talks about putting on armor.  No, being a Christian doesn’t mean I walk around in chain mail with a sword (although that would be cool too).  The “armor” that God tells us to put on is figurative, or spiritual, and its purpose is to help Christians be able to stand up to temptations and face the hard stuff in life.

My new favorite piece of armor is the Helmet.  Now, the Helmet goes over your head to protect your brain.  So by putting on a figurative Helmet, we protect our minds from crappy thoughts.  (Think about crappy thoughts as rocks being thrown at your head.  If you don’t have your helmet on, they’re gonna hurt.)

But the Helmet also does something else: It lets us hear God’s voice better.  I like to think of my Helmet more like Iron Man’s, because his has all sorts of cool flashy-lighty things inside, AND it has a little speakers so that Tony can hear the voices he’s supposed to.  (Like Cap yelling orders at him, or Jarvis telling him to stop being stupid.)

iron_man.gif

I swear I’m going to relate this back to writing.

Here’s my encouragement for you: even if you’re not religious, you can choose what voices you listen to.  Maybe it’s time you stopped letting your skull be exposed to the verbal rocks that get chucked at us every day.  Maybe it’s time that you put on a helmet with little speakers inside, and tune in to the channels that give you encouragement.  So when your feelings tell you that you’re worthless, you’ll actually hear that you’re amazing.  (Because guess what?  You are.)

I know first-hand that writing is hard sometimes.  It’s incredibly rewarding, also.  But sometimes we get bogged-down by it.

So tune in to this message right now: have courage.  Try again.  Pick yourself up when you fail.  Write and write and write and write.  Don’t give up.

And surround yourself with a voices that encourage you.

Here’s a final piece of advice for you:

courage doesn't always roar

Whatever you do, don’t quit.  Be Iron Man.

(JUST FOR THE RECORD, THOUGH, I’M TEAM CAP FOREVER.)

Leave me a note in the comments about how you stay positive when you’re felling worthless.  Also let me know what you thought of Captain America: Civil War.  Because it was AMAZING, wasn’t it?

One thought on “MM 2 – Don’t Throw in the Towel.

  1. Team Cap here, too!

    Watching my thoughts is a big part of what helps me get out of downward spirals when it comes to my writing. I’ve been tempted to quit before…but, like, the next day I’m all about writing again. Might be my personality. Hmm…

    Sometimes, though, when I’m down and discouraged, I like to take a break and restock the creative pond by just reading and watching movies/movie trailers, etc.

    Keep your pen on the page 🙂
    Beth

    Like

Leave a Reply

