Progress in Unexpected Sizes

Remember that post two weeks ago where I promised I was going to write faithfully for the rest of the summer?

Pretend it doesn’t exist.

You see, I’m finding it really hard to write this story.  Maybe it’s because it’s summer and my mind is elsewhere.  Maybe it’s because I’ve been re-reading Harry Potter and I care more about Rowling’s characters than my own right now .  Maybe it’s because I still don’t know what the main story arc is going to be in this novel.

I really like the character and the world I’ve developed, but I just don’t know what happens next.

It’s very frustrating, and I have a feeling I just need to write anyways to break through this block… but I don’t feel like writing.  Humph.

But writing is a tricky sport.

Pretend you play football and you want to improve.  Of course, to get better, you have to actually practice the game.  But in order to perform your best, you also need to sleep, and eat right, and do sit ups and push ups and go running and drink lots of Gatorade.

Writing is the same way.  Of course, you need to practice it to get better.  But you also need to get sleep, and go on walks, and get feedback, and eat right, and hang out with friends, and most importantly, read.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

And I have been reading a ton (blog post soon about summer reads).  So I’m going to choose to view these past few weeks not as a failure, but rather as a refresh.  I’ve been filling up my “words tank” so that I can empty it into my own novel.

The other thing I’ve been doing is working on my querying.  I’ve re-written chapter one.  (Okay, actually re-re-re-re-re-re-re-written, but same thing.)  I’ve re-written my query letter, too!  (Actually re-re-re-re-re-re-re-re-re written or something – I’m on version 24 right now.)

Annnnnnd I’ve sent these two new-and-improved things out to another handful of agents.

This sounds like nothing.  But it’s actually hours of typing and fine-tuning and checking websites and stalking agents on twitter and nervously hitting “send” on emails that are going to real live agents.

ahhhhhh!

And you know what?  Progress is progress.  Progress is progress is progress is progress.  I will choose to feel proud of myself for the things I have accomplished instead of beating myself up about the things I haven’t.

Tomorrow’s a new day, a new chance to jump back in and work harder and be the brilliant writer that I can be.  Today I’ll go to bed thankful for the work I’ve already put in.

Leave a Reply

