Company, College, and “Cursed Child”

Hello my beautiful people!  My fellow writers!

I just wanted to write you guys a quick letter letting you know that I probably won’t be blogging a ton in the next few weeks.  I have out of town guests arriving soon, and life’s always hectic when we have company.

Then shortly after that, I leave for school!  I’M GOING TO UNIVERSITY!

Or as we lame Americans call it, “college.”  (University sounds way cooler, right?)

So with all this transition and stuff happening, I don’t foresee having a lot of time for writing or for creating blog posts.  I’ll miss you all in my time off, but hopefully I’ll be back some time in mid or late August.  Enjoy the last bits of summer, go easy on yourself, sleep in, enjoy cold coffee, and read a book you’ve been meaning to for a while.

And, if you’re a Harry Potter fan, read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.

harry-potter-and-the-cursed-child

It’s brilliant and wonderful and delightful.

So many feelings…

This story made me laugh and almost cry and laugh some more. It brought back old characters that I loved seeing again, and introduced new characters that were just as endearing.  I loved being back in the wonderful wizarding world.

It felt a little different from the 7-book series, but that was to be expected. So I wouldn’t consider this to be “Book 8,” but rather an extra addition of some other sort. The story-telling is very different from the rest of the books.

But it was really good. The play-format didn’t bother me at all; I got used to it after a couple scenes. The dialogue was witty and fun.  And sometimes the stage directions made me feel like I was actually watching the play unfold on a stage before my eyes.

Overall it was amazing and beautiful. If you’ve read it, let me know what you thought!

Leave a Reply

