If You’re A Pantser…

pantser badge.png If you – like me – are a certified Pantser, then you have to do something very specific during the rough draft process.

What, exactly, do pantsers have to do during the rough draft process?  Glad you asked.

They have to write.

Mind=Blown.

I’ve been sitting around the past couple weeks, not writing.  Because I didn’t know what to write.  I thought I had to have a plot lined up before I started writing.  Because, you know, reasons.

But BETH.  YOU’RE A PANTSER.  YOU’RE NOT SUPPOSED TO KNOW.  YOU’RE JUST SUPPOSED TO WRITE.

Aha.  Thank you, voice inside my head.  If you would have told me this a few months ago, that would have been great.

All it took was a day of “playing” inside my head.  My characters met.  They said hello.  They were in a place.  There was conflict and drama.  Now there’s a fragment of a plot happening.  It’s slowly starting to take shape.

So don’t wait around for the perfect plot.  Star writing and it will come.

Okay.

Beth out.

 

Leave a Reply

