College and Queries

Hello from UNIVERSITY!  I’ve had a week of classes, and I love the college environment.  It’s new and strange and exciting and fun and crazy and I miss home but I’m having a blast.  Also, my college has a spectacular, brand-new library.  So studying and writing and working is really fun there.  Also, there’s a coffee shop IN THE LIBRARY.  Life is amazing.

So what have I been up to?

Writing some.  But mostly, working on my query letter.  I found an amazing website called agentqueryconnect.com where you can get your query letter critiqued, and where you can critique other people’s queries too.  It’s similar to Critique Circle’s forum for Queries and Synopses, but Agent Query Connect is used a lot more.  More people, more critiques, faster turn-around.  You can revise your query letter and get the revision critiqued the same day.  It’s been super helpful.

I have a new-and-improved query letter.  (Yes, I’ve said that about my last 3 versions.)  But this one feels better.  It feels more right.  I started from scratch and built from the ground up.  It’s more streamlined, more efficient.

bb8 thums up.gif

I’m excited to start sending it out to agents again.

But it’s not all chocolate chips and cappuccinos.

Query letters are hard.  There’s a fine line between not-too-many details and not-enough details.  You have to capture your MC, the plot setup, the conflict, the stakes.  You have to try again and again and again, each successive version taking you closer to your goal.

You have to be willing to try and fail magnificently and try again.

Query letters, basically, are the worst thing ever.  Querying stinks.  It’s painful and annoying and it takes forever to get it right, and there’s no way of knowing if you’re on the right track until you find yourself published one day.  The querying process is punctuated with failures and rejection and crazy hope and perseverance and feeling like you want to give up.

i_dont_like_it_supernatural.gif

No one likes querying.

But I have a friend who texts me encouraging things sometimes.  And last week, I woke up to a text message from her saying this:

The reason people give up so fast is because they tend to look at how far they still have to go instead of how far they have gotten.

And then later she sent me a text saying this:

You didn’t come this far only to come this far.

That made me stop and think.  WOW.  I’ve written a book.  And I’ve EDITED IT!  Like, WOWZER.  That’s freaking amazing.

So my encouragement to you wonderful people of Internet Land:

Don’t give up.  Don’t let the fear of failing stop you.  Don’t stop when you’re behind.  Don’t listen to the voice nagging at you saying, “you’ll never make it.”

I’m chasing my dreams.

Chase yours.

One thought on “College and Queries

Leave a Reply

