Moving Forward

How about a NaNo Wordcount update?

nano-wordcount

So.  I’m, uh, quite a bit behind.  I’ve written over 13,000 words, which is still amazing.  And I’m so proud of what I’ve written.  I have fun new characters, a plot that I’m really liking, and I’ve been having a lot of fun.  I feel like what I’m writing has the potential to become an actual story someday, which is what I was going for.

I’m not beating myself up for being behind.  I had a 10-page paper due this morning, and college life is just busy.  And that’s okay.  But also, like, I’m definitely blaming the election for knocking me off track.  Literally I was doing great until November 8th.  Ahahaha oh well.

nano-wordcount-election

So I did some more writing today.  But I also spent several hours online, creating a map for my fictional world.  It was something I’ve been meaning to do for a long time, and today I finally found software that would do what I wanted.  Here was my end result:

map-1

I’m super happy with how it turned out.  It’s not quite put-in-the-front-of-the-book quality, but it looks amazing and it will work perfectly for my purposes.  (Basically, I needed to plot out where things were in my world so that I could accurately write about scenery/ direction of travel/ travel time from one location to another.)  The world isn’t necessarily finished, but I can always go back and edit more later.

The website I used was http://inkarnate.com/ and I highly recommend it.  It’s currently in Beta testing, but it works really smoothly, and it’s free.  You can save your maps online to return to later, and you can download them as Jpeg images.

Back to NaNo.  I will probably not end up writing 50,000 words this month.  But that’s completely okay.  I am doing other things that I need to do, like homework assignments, and creating maps, and re-reading The Sound of Color.  NaNoWriMo simply served as the jump-start I needed to get my creative cogs spinning again.

And let’s be honest.  Ideally, someday, I will be a published author.  Ideally, someday, I will be able to quit my day job and sit at home all day long spinning stories and sipping coffee.  And at that point, 50,000 words in a month (or something equivalent) is a reasonable amount of work.  (Or the editing/ whatever equivalent to that pace).  But I’m not there right now.  Right now, I’m a full-time student.  And I will probably have a full-time job for a while before I ever get to be a full-time writer.  And that’s okay.  So while last year’s NaNo was about proving to myself that I could do this crazy thing – achieve this lofty and improbably goal – this year’s NaNo is about starting again.  Picking up the creative threads that I had largely abandoned for a while.  And you know what?  It feels really good.

2 thoughts on “Moving Forward

Leave a Reply

