Always Learning

Hello my dear lovely writers,

I’ve just got a couple thoughts for you today.  It’s some things that I’m learning as a writer, and hopefully some things that I can share with you.  Sometimes I think of myself as a Great Master Writer, someone who has learned All The Things.

But when I hush that pride and open my mind to learning again, I am always rewarded.

So, here are some things that I’ve been learning recently:

1) Write for FUN.

I started writing because I enjoyed it.  I started writing because it felt like reading, it felt like an escape.  It was a place to let my imagination run wild, to play in my own world.

Somewhere along the way, sometimes, I forgot why I write.  I think it’s so important – especially as an unpublished author – to write for myself first.  If I’m not having fun writing, it’s not worth it.  (Not to say that every day of writing is fun – some writing days are hard and awful.  But the overall process of writing should be fun.)

Write about things you like.  I’m writing about a bookstore right now and it’s literally my favorite thing ever.  My characters are bookish characters, and they’re so cool to get to know.

2) Write Everywhere.

Sooooo, I’ve started writing in class.  Shhh, don’t tell my mom.  I have two classes this semester that are “I-don’t-need-to-pay-attention” classes.  You know the ones where you’ve already read the textbook, and the professor talks SO SLOWLY, and you’re counting the minutes as they drag by?  Turns out those classes are a perfect place to write.

My Chemistry notebook is now full of story snippets.  I’ll start a scene during class and I’ll come back to my laptop and dorm and type it up and expand it.  It’s so much easier to start a scene ahead of time and have something ready to type when you sit down at the laptop.

3) Prioritize.

I only have a certain number of hours in a day.  If I spend them all on Facebook and Netflix, I’m not going to have any time left to write.  Sometimes I just have to be stubborn with myself and make myself take the first step of sitting down to type.  Then the words start flowing from my fingertips like magic, and I’m so glad I forced myself to do it.

Leave a comment and let me know what you’ve been learning lately.  It always warms my heart to be reminded that I’m not the only writer in the universe.

Leave a Reply

