I’m Back (in this country)!

20170602_101940_34693149924_o.jpg

Hello friends!  Sorry for my lack of posting.  I’ve been off exploring and world-traveling, seeing mountains and Lochs and old castles, catching up on sleep and adjusting to time-zones.  In the space of a month, I’ve taken two international trips, plus one domestic trip involving a 12-hour trainride each way.  So while I’ve loved seeing spectacular scenery and cool ruins, I didn’t bring my laptop with me.  (I didn’t really have time for writing anyways.)

But after all my traveling, seeing, and learning, I was a little bit nervous to try my hand at writing again.  It had been a month since I’d worked on this story.  How was I going to jump back in?

Turns out, all it takes to jump back in to writing is to sit down, open my word document, and start working.

Look, it’s hard to go a while without writing.  But it’s also really nice to take some time off and go see the world.  I got to dream and plan and imagine in my time off.  I got to give my head a rest and read some good books and enjoy the beauty of nature.  And now?  Now it’s really nice to be sleeping in my own bed, not living out of my suitcase, and be writing again.  It’s really nice to have free time and cell reception and a story that I’m really excited to be working on.

So no matter where your summer plans are taking you, don’t forget that your writing is waiting.  Your story needs you.  And if it’s been a while since you’ve opened your word-doc, don’t be afraid to grab a coffee, sit down, and write.

 

I 20170604_111343_35495340136_o.jpg

img_20170622_182836_842_35147632030_o.jpg

 

3 thoughts on “I’m Back (in this country)!

  1. I have wild dreams about going to Scotland! That is so awesome that you went there! I think it is so true that sometimes the adventuring is just as important as the writing. You have to live life if you are going to write about it. And what better place to gain inspiration than SCOTLAND?
    I thought you said ‘living in my suitcase’ and my mind went immediately to Newt Scamander.

    Like

Leave a Reply

